About Me


JANUARY 1st thru DECEMBER 31st 2019 / All royalties for online sales such as BARNES & NOBLE, AMAZON, BOOK BUB ect…. will go to fund the U. S. Marshal’s Museum in Ft. Smith, Arkansas. John doesn’t want a penny.  Each of  John’s books are about Civil War orphans and each story is based on actual events in our history. When the war started there were only  two orphanage’s in St. Louis with a growing number of children to care for,  the Mullanphy Orphanage and the St. Louis Protestant Orphanage.

     When started in 1827 and 1834 these two facilities cared for a few dozen children, but with the outbreak of Cholera in 1849, the Gold Rush of 1849 they were over burdened. With the  Civil War twelve years later they found themselves taking care of over 2,000 children. At the end of the Civil War there were no less than 24 orphanage’s in St. Louis city trying to care for more than 20,000 children with another 20,000 or so struggling to survive on the streets. Many of these unfortunate children became what we know today as Cowboys. They were of German, Irish and Dutch descent.  Prior to this time in our history we did not use the term Cowboy. Just so you know, what we call cowboys today were actually boys at the time of the Civil War.  The Gaslight Boys series pays homage to these children and the Gaslight district of St. Louis, Missouri.

1960 Thunderbird Super Coupe

John T. Wayne the American Civil War author is the grandson of John Wayne (the actor) though he had no idea the first 54 years of his life. Growing up he attended schools all over the state of Missouri, where he learned the true history of the US Civil War. John is a chip off the old block, believing in God, individual responsibility and the idea of a free America.

My father Billy at about 11 years old.

John began writing his stories in 1985 while attending the University of Oregon. It was there he lost his daughter Kimberly to Cancer. He soon left Oregon and returned home to Missouri where he met his current wife Donna. After 30 years together, they have some incredible stories to share.

When I was looking for a publisher, I came across Mocking-Bird Lane Press and wondered, because my Uncle Buddy and Aunt Vivian lived at 2410 Mocking-Bird lane in Florissant, Missouri my entire life. Once I met Regina, I knew they were the right publisher for me. I got the best publisher in Arkansas, and I get to keep my best memories on tap.

Look for his autobiography in late 2018. AN AMERICAN HERITAGE tells the story of how he grew up not knowing his true grandfather, how he learned at age 54 that it was in fact the Duke of Hollywood. All pertinent  information concerning his heritage will be released on the following sites over the summer 2018.

On Facebook = John T. Wayne Fan Page

Blog = https://johntwayne.tumblr.com/